Monthly Archives: February 2012


3rd Workshop on Script to Program Evolution
(co-located with ECOOP and PLDI)
Beijing, China
June 11, 2012


Recent years have seen increased use of scripting languages in large applications. Scripting  languages optimize development time, especially early in the software life cycle, over safety and robustness. As the understanding of the system reaches a critical point and requirements stabilize, scripting languages become less appealing. Compromises made to optimize development time make it harder to reason about program correctness, harder to do semantic-preserving refactorings, and harder to optimize execution speed. Lack of type information makes code harder to navigate and to use correctly. In the worst cases, this situation leads to a costly and potentially error-prone rewrite of a program in a compiled language, losing the flexibility of scripting languages for future extension.

Recently, pluggable type systems and annotation systems have been proposed. Such systems add compile-time checkable annotations without changing a program’s run-time semantics which facilitates early error checking and program analysis. It is believed that untyped scripts can be retrofitted to work with such systems. Furthermore, integration of typed and untyped code, for example, through use of gradual typing, allows scripts to evolve into safer programs more suitable for program analysis and compile-time optimizations.

With few exceptions, practical reports are yet to be found. The STOP workshop focuses on the evolution of scripts, largely untyped code, into safer programs, with more rigid structure and more  constrained behavior through the use of gradual/hybrid/pluggable typing, optional contract checking, extensible languages, refactoring tools, and the like. The goal is to further the understanding and use of such systems in practice, and connect practice and theory.


Abstracts, position papers, and status reports are welcome. Papers should be 1-2 pages in standard ACM SIGPLAN format. All submissions will be reviewed by the program committee. The accepted papers, after rework by the authors, will be published in an informal proceedings, which will be distributed at the workshop. All accepted submissions shall remain available from the workshop web page.

Papers are to be submitted electronically via the STOP website:


paper submission: 11:59 PM 30 March 2012 Eastern Daylight Time
notification: 20 April 2012
camera-ready paper: 15 May 2012
conference date: 11 June 2012


Avik Chaudhuri, Adobe Labs
Kathryn Gray, Swansea University
Arjun Guha, Brown University
David Herman, Mozilla Research
Manuel Hermenegildo, IMDEA
Atsushi Igarashi, Kyoto University
Ranjit Jhala, University of California, San Diego
Sam Tobin-Hochstadt (Chair), Northeastern University